Ending It All

December 15, 2010 at 5:39 am (Special Report)

I’d like to thank everyone for reading the blog, and for the wonderful comments and compliments I’ve been getting these past three years.

But I think it’s time to wind it up and close it down. Not immediately, but soon.

Until then, new stuff will continue to appear, and let me know if there’s anything you’d like to see again, before the final fade-out.

Thanks again!

* * * * * * * * * * * *

– – – Christopher Snowden

7 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    I am going to miss this blog SO. MUCH. Thanks for all your hard work and wonderful writing!

    If you could see your way to posting a little Clara before you go, I’d be ever so grateful. *grin*

  2. Allen Hefner said,

    We will be sorry to see you end this wonderful blog. Too many young people are not exposed to the world of silent films, and they offer so much.

    A few years ago my wife happened to catch her first real silent film on TCM, starring Mary Pickford. She was hooked! We have watched many Chaplin silents together, and find them to be creative in a way that sound doesn’t allow.

    Sadly many silent films are lost, and now we will lose this knowledgeable source of info and insight, and a friend as well.

    Best of luck to you, Chris. Feel free to guest blog on my site if you have the urge. And if you are in the eastern PA neighborhood in March, there is a fun little silent movie fest waiting for you. It celebrates local movie mogul Siegmund Lubin. Keep in touch.

  3. diane said,

    I shall be very sorry to see this unique blog close. Even though I have been
    reading it for a couple of years, it is only in the last few months that I have
    felt confident enough to post comments. Typical!!
    I don’t have any requests – I am always happy to be suprised by the
    sometimes “way out” topics!!
    Good Luck and all the success in the future.

  4. J. Theakston said,

    Damn, I hope not forever. I really appreciate your work here, Chris.

  5. Murderous Ink said,

    Oh no.
    I have been following your blog for a long time, and feel very very sad to see this go. This is one the best sites to read about silent films and its era. Many lovely photos and extremely informative and entertaining stories. Whenever I saw the update flag on your site in My Google Reader, I get excited.
    I will miss this wonderful, wonderful blog.
    MI

  6. John Bengtson said,

    Christopher

    Your blog is always so fascinating, enlightening, and entertaining. You have a wonderful style of writing, and such an impressive depth of knowledge. I can only imagine the time and effort it must take to produce such quality work on a weekly (or even more frequent) basis. I hope you will consider blogging again in the future.

    Until then, congratulations on your many achievements, and thank you so much for all of the fun. Your wonderful blog is greatly appreciated, and will be sorely missed.

    Best wishes, John

  7. Donna said,

    Really sorry to read this. I lurk mostly, but roar often at home with the laptop. I’ll miss your blog and wish you well on to bigger and better things.

Leave a Reply

